Strenghten human rights and ethics in science

The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences engage in different ways in the areas of human rights and ethics.
 

Human Rights

The «Delegate for Human Rights» of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences works at the interface between science and human rights. Martina Caroni, Chair in International, Constitutional and Comparative Law at the University of Lucerne executes this function since 2017. The Delegate takes appropriate action in cases of violations against human rights of researchers related to their scientific work and she promotes the pertinence of human rights in science. The Delegate seeks cooperation with partners nationally (e.g. Scholars at Risk Switzerland) and internationally (e.g. International Human Rights Network of Academies and Scholarly Societies).
 
International Conference «Academic freedom: a universal right at stake!?» (2017)
 
Academic freedom is a core principle that is critical for the conduct of science and its progress. It encompasses the engagement in scholarly practices and the exchange of scientific ideas without interference or suppression. Although guaranteed in several national constitutions and internationally, the rights associated with academic freedom are increasingly being encroached upon in recent years in different places and different ways. Seriously concerned about this tendency, the conference addressed its implications at individual and institutional level as well as possible countermeasures.
 
Workshop «Ethical and legal responsibility in international research» (2016)
 
Internationally active researchers can be confronted with difficult ethical and legal questions – for example when cooperating with politically corrupt local structures, when working on projects funded from doubtful financial resources or when collaborating with researchers in countries imposed to international sanctions. Based on a report of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, this symposium addresses the responsibility in international research by means of specific case examples.
 
International Conference «The Human Right to Science» (2015)
 
Scientists are entitled to human rights – but people also have a right to scientific progress and its applications. This  conference addressed «The Human Right to Science» by taking the example of seed science and seed policy. Keynote speaker was Farida Shaheed, Special Rapporteur of the UN in the Field of Cultural Rights.
 
See also:
 

Ethics in science

Within the framework of their focus area «Scientific integrity», the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences are also engaged internationally.

In Europe: as part of their cooperation with the Working Group «Science and Ethics» of the All European Academies (ALLEA), the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences had the lead in drafting the statement on private funding in the scientific enterprise (2015).

Globally: from October 2010 to April 2016, the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences supported the «Committee on Freedom and Responsibility in the conduct of Science» of the International Council for Science (ICSU). Based on the scientific conference «Private sector – academia interactions» that this committee organised in 2011, they held the workshop «Das Spannungsverhältnis von Wissenschaft und Industrie am Beispiel des Sponsoring von Lehrstühlen» in Bern in 2012 that resulted in the above-mentioned ALLEA statement.
 

Members of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences

Centres of Excellence

Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
House of Academies
Laupenstrasse 7
P.O. Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

Phone +41 (0)31 306 92 20
info@swiss-academies.ch

Renforcer les droits de l'homme et l'éthique en science

Les Académies suisses des sciences s'engagent de différentes façons aux sujets des droits de l'homme et de l'éthique.
 

Droits de l'homme

Le «Délégué aux droits de l'homme» des Académies suisses des sciences travaille à l'interface entre les sciences et les droits de l'homme. Martina Caroni, Professeure de droit international, de droit public et de droit comparé à l'Université de Lucerne excerce cette fonction depuis 2017. Le Délégué prend des mesures appropriées en cas de violations des droits de l'homme à l'encontre de chercheuses et chercheurs et en lien avec leurs travaux scientifiques et elle promeut l'importance des droits de l'homme dans les sciences. Elle ou il sollicite la coopération avec des partenaires au niveau national (p.ex. Scholars at Risk Switzerland) et international (p.ex. International Human Rights Network of Academies and Scholarly Societies).
 
Conférence internationale «Academic freedom: a universal right at stake!?» (2017)
 
La liberté académique est un principe fondamental essential à la conduite de la science et à son progrès. Elle englobe l’engagement dans la pratique de la science et l’échange d’idées scientifiques sans interférence ni suppression. Bien qu'ils soient garantis dans plusieurs constitutions nationales et au niveau international, les droits associés à la liberté académique sont de plus en plus souvent entravés à différents endroits et de différentes manières ces dernières années. Gravement préoccupée par cette tendance, la conférence a abordé ses implications au niveau individuel et institutionnel ainsi que les contre-mesures possibles.
 
Workshop «Responsabilités éthiques et juridiques en matière de recherche internationale» (2016)
 
Tout chercheur actif sur le plan international peut se trouver confronté à des questions éthiques ou juridiques difficiles; on pensera, par exemple, à la coopération avec des structures politiques corrompues sur place, à la participation aux projets financés par des ressources d'origine douteuse ou à la coopération avec des chercheurs dans des pays soumis aux sanctions internationales. Faisant suite à un rapport de l'Académie néerlandaise des sciences, ce symposium se penchait sur responsabilité en matière de recherche internationale à l’aide d’exemples concrets.
 
Conférence internationale «The Human Right to Science» (2015)
 
Les scientifiques ont droit aux droits de l'homme – mais tout individu a aussi droit au progrès scientifique et à ses applications. Cette conférence abordait «The Human Right to Science» à l'exemple de la recherche et de la politique sur les semences. La conférencière principale était Farida Shaheed, la Rapporteuse spéciale des Nations Unies dans le domaine des droits culturels.
 
Voir aussi:
 

Éthique dans les sciences

Dans le cadre de leur thème prioritaire «Intégrité scientifique», les Académies suisses des sciences s'engagent aussi au niveau international.

En Europe: lié à leur coopération avec le groupe de travail «Science and Ethics» des All European Academies (ALLAE), elles étaient responsables pour la prise de position concernant le financement privé dans les sciences (2015).

Au niveau global: entre octobre 2010 et avril 2016, elles soutenaient le «Committee on Freedom and Responsibility in the conduct of Science» de l'International Council for Science (ICSU). À partir de la réunion scientifique «Private Sector – Academia Interactions» de ce comité en 2011, les Académies suisses des sciences organisaient le workshop «Das Spannungsverhältnis von Wissenschaft und Industrie am Beispiel des Sponsoring von Lehrstühlen» en 2012, ce qui aboutissait dans la prise de position de l'ALLEA mentionnée.
 

Membres des Académies suisses des sciences

Centres de compétences :

Académies suisses des sciences
Maison des Académies
Laupenstrasse 7
Case postale
CH-3001 Bern

Tél +41 (0)31 306 92 20
info@akademien-schweiz.ch