Guidelines and Recommendations

Authorship in scientific publications – Analysis and recommendations

Scientific publications do not only serve the communication of science – the numbers of publications or of citations are essentially determining career opportunities of scientists. Accordingly, clear guidelines are needed that may help deciding who will be on the author list and in what order. The Scientific Integrity Committee of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences has summarized prevailing regulations and formulated recommendations for authorship in scientific publications. These should help to prevent authorship disputes and offer guidance in the event of conflicts.

Authorship in scientific publications (pdf)
 

Scientific policy advice
Recommendations of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences to researchers

Regardless of whether it concerns geneticall modified plants, climate change or juvenile violence - politicians do rely on substantiated scientific information in order to take decisions. In Switzerland, too, the need for policy advice increases; accordingly, scientists bear a great responsibility when commenting on politically sensitive domains. Against this background, the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences have recently published recommendations on "Scientific policy advice". They shall make a contribution to the qauality assurance of scientific policy advice.


Recommendations (pdf, 1.9 MB)
Press release (in German) (pdf, 130.5 KB)
 

«Scientific integrity - principles and procedural rules»

«Scientific integrity» circumscribes the self-commitment of researchers to adhere to the principles of good scientific practice. The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences have published a document, in which they capture principles and procedural rules on scientific integrity.
The publication can be ordered at no charge at:
Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences SAMS, Petersplatz 13, CH-4051 Basel, Switzerland,
Tel +41 61 269 90 30, Fax +41 61 269 90 39, mail@samw.notexisting@nodomain.comch


Slides (in German) (ppt, 152.0 KB)
Press release (in German)_SI (pdf, 115.4 KB)
Guidelines (in German)_SI (pdf, 1.2 MB)
Academies_Authorship (pdf, 472.8 KB)
Integrity_2008_e (pdf, 1.1 MB)
 

Ethical principles and guidelines on animal testing

The principles and guidelines are guided by the recognition that, on the one hand, human beings cannot go without scientific enquiry on anmials in trying to resolve their problems while, on the other hand, the ethical principles of "reverence for life" and respecting the "dignity of animals" command the protection of animals. The principles and guidelines are based on the conviction that scientists, as responsible human beings, will determine, realise and control by themselves the necessary measures to best overcome this conflict.


Guidelines (in German) (pdf, 167.8 KB)
Preface (pdf, 55.9 KB)
 

Members of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences

Centres of Excellence

Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
House of Academies
Laupenstrasse 7
P.O. Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

Phone +41 (0)31 306 92 20
info@swiss-academies.ch

Directives et Recommandations

Qualité d’auteur des publications scientifiques – Analyse et recommandations

Les publications scientifiques n'ont pas pour seul but de promulguer le savoir. Le nombre de publications ou de citations est également décisif pour la carrière des chercheurs. Dès lors, il est d'autant plus important de disposer de règles claires concernant la qualité d'auteur et l'ordre de citation des auteurs. La commission «Intégrité scientifique» des Académies suisses des sciences a récapitulé les règles en vigueur et formulé des recommandations à ce sujet. Leur objectif est de contribuer à prévenir les désaccords relatifs à la qualité d'auteur et d'aider à résoudre les éventuels conflits.

Qualité d’auteur des publications scientifiques (pdf)
 

Conseil scientifique dans le champ politique
Recommandations des Académies suisses des sciences à l’intention des scientifiques

Qu'il s'agisse de plantes génétiquement modifiées, du changement climatique ou de la violence des jeunes, les politiciens sont tributaires d’informations scientifiquement fondées pour prendre leurs décisions. Il en va de même en Suisse : les politiciens ont de plus en plus besoin de conseil scientifique ; la responsabilité des scientifiques est d'autant plus lourde lorsqu'ils émettent un avis sur des questions politiques sensibles. Dans ce contexte, les Académies suisses des sciences ont publié récemment des recommandations « Conseil scientifique dans le champ politique », dont le but est de contribuer à assurer la bonne qualité du conseil scientifique.

Recommandations (pdf, 410.5 KB)
Communiqué de presse (pdf, 124.4 KB)
 

L’intégrité dans la recherche scientifique - Principes de base et procédures

«L’intégrité scientifique» décrit l’engagement des chercheuses et chercheurs à respecter les règles fondamentales des bonnes pratiques scientifiques. Les Académies suisses des sciences ont élaboré un document qui contient les principes et les procédures à suivre dans le cadre de l’intégrité scientifique.La publication peut être commandée gratuitement sous:
Lic. iur. Michelle Salathé, Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales, Petersplatz 13, 4051 Bâle, Tél. 061 269 90 30, Fax 061 269 90 39, mail@samw.notexisting@nodomain.comch .

Directive (pdf, 1.2 MB)
Academies_Qualite_auteur (pdf, 286.6 KB)
 

Principes d'éthique et directives pour l'expérimentation animale

Les principes et directives présentés ici sont fondés sur la reconnaissance du dilemme suivant: d’une part, l’être humain ne peut renoncer aux expériences scientifiques sur les animaux pour résoudre les problèmes auxquels il est confronté; d’autre part, le principe éthique du respect de la vie et l’attention qu’il doit vouer à la dignité de la créature lui commandent de protéger les animaux. Les principes d’éthique et directives s’appuient sur la conviction qu’il appartient aux scientifiques, en tant que personnes responsables, de définir, d’appliquer et de contrôler par eux-mêmes les mesures indispensables pour surmonter le mieux possible ce dilemme.

Directives_2010 (pdf, 163.8 KB)
Version abrégée (pdf, 42.9 KB)
Epilogue_2005 (pdf, 49.4 KB)
 

Membres des Académies suisses des sciences

Centres de compétences :

Académies suisses des sciences
Maison des Académies
Laupenstrasse 7
Case postale
CH-3001 Bern

Tél +41 (0)31 306 92 20
info@akademien-schweiz.ch